All the latest news and views from the CPSU team

Review of Children, Young Persons and Their Families Act 1997

THE Minister for Children, Michelle O’Byrne has formed a reference committee to make recommendation to her on changes to the Children, Young Persons and Their Families Act 1997.  The committee is being chaired by Dr. Maria Harries and comprises Donna Evans (Good Beginnings), Heather Sculthorpe (Tas. Aboriginal Centre), Angela McCrossen (DHHS), Tom Lynch(CPSU), Nick Evans (DPAC) and Greg Barnes (Barrister and Columnist).

The terms of reference for the committee define the matters for consideration in the first stage of the review and are principally aimed at implementing changes recommended in the myriad of reviews into the Child Protection system in recent years.  The committee has also been asked to make recommendation for a second, more comprehensive review of the Act.

The committee has been asked to report back to the Minister by the end of March 2013.  Recognising the serious time constraints on the project the committee will be seeking to undertake as much consultation with stakeholders as possible in the time available.  This will include dissemination of a discussion paper to encourage submissions, face to face meetings between key stakeholders and the chairperson and a stakeholder forum.

Anyone interested in contributing to this important process should read the attached discussion paper and contribute their views by submission or by contacting one of the committee participants.

CYPTF Act review – Discussion Paper

No Comments